Out and about around Islay without my big bags…

And so off I went around Islay to catch (well I mean see) some geese…the cycling felt easy without my paniers so up to Machir Beach felt like a dream…as did the beach itself…

IMG_4276 IMG_4278 IMG_4280 IMG_4281 IMG_4284

Atlantic waves coming in across the white sand..swimming at own risk given the strong currents.  If only I’d had a message in a bottle to send out across the Atlantic!

Then it was on the equally beautiful Saligo Bay..

IMG_4287 IMG_4288 IMG_4291

cycling around Loch Gorm’s quiet roads a cute little cottage caught my eye…

IMG_4289 IMG_4294

And then it was time to catch those geese.  The RSPB reserve at Loch Gruinart has a cute little visitor centre manned by a lovely girl from Wales who’d just started a few days before. She was full of enthusiasm telling me about the choughs she’d seen a few days before at the other reserve in the South of Islay the “Oa”.  She said it’d make a lovely cycle to go out to Ardnave Point.  By this time it was positively tropical conditions so a beach sounded like a nice idea!

IMG_4292 IMG_4293

I didnt quite make it to the point as it said it was a 3 hour walk so I just wandered around a bit and enjoyed the swirling patterns in the sand.

IMG_4300 IMG_4304

One of the RSPB farmers gave me some water on the way back since it really was dead hot!

I was talking to a birdwatcher with really big binoculars..I really just fancied seeing what he was seeing…an eagle very far in the distance…when the lovely brother and sister from the ferry passed me! So we cycled together back to the road end and shared stories of our adventures so far. It’s funny but on these trips each day can seem to hold many adventures!

At the junction they headed to Port Ellen to camp there for the night before a ferry back over the next day…I headed back to the hostel to see what the evening held…

About angiemcscottie

Three years ago today I dropped my briefcase, replaced it with a rucksack and headed off around the world. I am now back where I started, but doesn't life have a funny way of doing that to us! But I have new eyes and things have changed so here is my take on my cute, quirky little country...SCOTLAND!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out and about around Islay without my big bags…

  1. Ian says:

    Fantastic blog Angie – a real sense of the natural beauty of Scotland. Enjoy the settled weather.

Leave a Reply

