Pushing through the wind to Lochranza….

In Scotland it’s better to ignore the forecast and just get on wi it.  So Easter weekend and a few days off work time to get Orbit packed up, complete with tent and stove, for a few days touring the West Coast Islands.

Think I was half asleep when I boarded the train at Glasgow Central for “Brodick” as I managed to get on the back train on the platform and ended up in Gourock! Thought the scenery looked a bit different from my previous trips!  The conductor was also half asleep as he checked my ticket and didn’t tell me to get off. The route back to Paisley Gilmour Street was punctuated by my bike falling (why are there never bike racks when you need them) and the banter of a few mums:-

Kid – “Can I go to the toilet?”

Mum – “You’re pure at it. You always wanna go on the train”.

Mum to other mum – “Is that yer ringtone, nae danger”.

At last I was leaving land behind and on the ferry to Brodick on Arran.

IMG_4223 IMG_4224 IMG_4225

The ferry was packed with holiday makers eating chips (they smelled great) and drinking beers and rose wines.  Coming into Brodick the racing biker snakes soon flexed their muscles and their carbon forks and left me and Orbit stuck behind a camper van. As usual I had to coax my mudguard to get itself away from the wheel…those guys just always want to be together…and then it was on the quiet road to Lochranza.  IMG_4228 IMG_4230 IMG_4235

The wind was a bit strong right enough.  I always find the first day back on the bike a bit tough. It’s almost like my mind says “right what are doing here fighting through this gale force wind, are there no other options?”.

The hill up out of Sannox was a toughie…wish I’d paid more attention to those tiny little arrows marked on the route in my bike book…I had a comedy fall at one point when I stopped to adjust my headgear only to forget I had 2 huge bags on the back…thankfully no one saw this! 199 metres up with a headwind all the way….if you’ve ever cycled in Scotland you’ll know it’s always a head wind even bizarelly when you go back the same way you’ve just come. How does that happen??????

Here’s me at the top of the hill….see it really is windy!!!!! I’m not exaggerating!!!!!

The descent down to Lochranza is magnificent.  As I reached the flat just as the castle came into view a few deer silhouetted themselves right in front of the castle.  I’ve arrived indeed I thought! A quick meal then a local ale down the small pub..had to do something to escape the lack of “youths” in the “Youth Hostel”.  IMG_4238 IMG_4239 IMG_4240 IMG_4248 IMG_4249

The elderly “youths” managed to be up out of their beds most of the night so it was a weary Angie who caught the 0815 ferry over to Claonaig…to continue the adventure…IMG_4250

About angiemcscottie

Three years ago today I dropped my briefcase, replaced it with a rucksack and headed off around the world. I am now back where I started, but doesn't life have a funny way of doing that to us! But I have new eyes and things have changed so here is my take on my cute, quirky little country...SCOTLAND!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pushing through the wind to Lochranza….

  1. Florence says:

    Super de suivre tes nouvelles aventures avec le printemps ! bises

Leave a Reply

