Orbit heads to Berneray…

Orbit wakes up early. She doesn’t like to lose the mornings she says. And she was keen to see Berneray again after all these years. She recalled the white sand beaches and said she had once been photographed in front of the small Gatliff hostel there.

We set off and managed to grab a local shop at Balivanich. After the somehow bleakness of South Uist with its slightly abandoned feeling it was nice to see some life! With a low population comes a feeling of peacefulness but also a feeling of remoteness and I guess loneliness. A local teacher had said to me the evening before in the Nunton Hostel that most young people move away and don’t come back. A Sunday cycling on Uist couldn’t be more of a contrast to a city if it tried. I wondered where all the folks were hiding and what they were doing. If it’s raining do you just stay in and read a book I wondered?

Anyway Orbit didn’t let me hang around. I was allowed to stop for a break at Balranald where I got a delicious custard cream and a coffee from the campsite. I saw a great washing line in front of a lovely beach! My cousin Hev would love it!20140602_113746 20140602_120442 20140602_120649 20140602_122238

 

Near Newton I left Orbit for a bit and went to explore an old broch over some stepping stones!

20140602_133957

And then it was on to one of the things Orbit and I had been looking forward to most….Berneray….Orbit could hardly contain herself speeding me faster and faster past the lovely beaches….well she knew the way so what could I do???

About angiemcscottie

Three years ago today I dropped my briefcase, replaced it with a rucksack and headed off around the world. I am now back where I started, but doesn't life have a funny way of doing that to us! But I have new eyes and things have changed so here is my take on my cute, quirky little country...SCOTLAND!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

