Street Art in Glasgow, the day I saw art during its creation…

Street Art, Glasgow

Street Art, Glasgow

Wandering around Glasgow one day I stumbled upon an artist creating her work on Gordon Street. Her eye catching work attracted my attention and I stopped for a blether (chat). The artist is Kirsty Whiten and her latest series of works focuses on her “penchant for reconstructing myth and imagining awe-inspiring creatures of old in a modern context; centaurs, half man, half horse, heroic and muscular, caught up in the trenches of WW1 or even the backstreet of Glasgow, where they sport baseball caps, down bottles of beer and flick the Vs” (taken from a flier for her latest show which she gave me).  The work is still there and is just next to the Republic Beer Halle there in the small lane next to it.

IMG_9820 IMG_9821 IMG_9822 IMG_9824

About angiemcscottie

Three years ago today I dropped my briefcase, replaced it with a rucksack and headed off around the world. I am now back where I started, but doesn't life have a funny way of doing that to us! But I have new eyes and things have changed so here is my take on my cute, quirky little country...SCOTLAND!
This entry was posted in Glasgow, West Coast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

