Back home…

So I am back home after almost 3 years on the road…and it is time to write about my home country through the eyes of a Scottish tourist.  I have had some funny reactions since I have been back especially when I was taking some photos in Airdrie…outside a pub…a local guy with a red face (a drinker’s face we might call it) asked me what I was doing. I said I was a tourist. He wrinkled his brow and asked “so where you from hen (woman in Scottish)” ? I said “here”. He gave up at that point and headed on his way shaking his head.

I may have done the same before I went away travelling, never realising the uniqueness and specialness of my own country, not understanding that nowhere else on earth had quite the same feeling, quite the same air, quite the same humour, dry, gritty, a little moany but still very funny.

It is strange being a tourist back home but I have tried to approach it in the same way I did whilst I was abroad, by being friendly, persistent, if needed, and cracking a joke if I can, after all humour works in any language.

Some of the things I never thought as being uniquely Scottish suddenly seem really Scottish to me, including some words which I thought were universal “hen” included, some food, “haggis”. I thought they had that everywhere but it seems not, perhaps wisely. And some of the amazing landscapes.

And, of course, a crazy love for chips…but more of that later…

About angiemcscottie

Three years ago today I dropped my briefcase, replaced it with a rucksack and headed off around the world. I am now back where I started, but doesn't life have a funny way of doing that to us! But I have new eyes and things have changed so here is my take on my cute, quirky little country...SCOTLAND!
This entry was posted in Central Belt, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back home…

  1. Cousin Graeme says:

    Liking it so far Angie – Did you know – you probably do, being a wee clever-clogs – that the use of ‘hen’ for addressing a woman actually originated in England – Shakespeare to be precise

  2. Simon Meffan-Main says:

    What are the hostels like?

Leave a Reply

